Finding Frontiers

Took a total shot in the dark this morning and though it didn’t amount to any tangible result, it did get me thinking about what I am & am not looking for, as I begin to more closely consider my career/future.

One of my most revered music producers/DJs/vocalists (LOUISAHHH!!!, whom I’ve written about before) announced this week that she along with another of her producer kin were set to launch their own record label.

Since learning of this news a few days ago it has been in the back of my mind to reach out with regard to potential job opportunities.  Through mutual support & celebration of substance abuse recovery (a big reason why she’s such a personal hero) I have cultivated rapport with Louisa via social media, so when I made an offhand comment on a post she shared this morning she was kind enough to direct me to their official label page for further inquiring.

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 1.14.24 PM

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 1.14.39 PM

Turns out they’re headquartered in their home country of France anyway.

The dream was born, and then extinguished, all within the time it took me to drink a cup of coffee.  C’est la vie.

Reflecting on this further, I realized how excited I was at the prospect of being involved with this project in any capacity whatsoever — marketing, admin, sales support; I just wanted a piece.

A couple of years ago I was collecting advice on how best to jobsearch/jumpstart my career.  One that stuck with me was rather than simply going around and looking for relevant (or any) employment openings…go around and seek out particular companies or businesses that you want to be affiliated with.  Sounds intuitive and logical, but in this economy?  Not a chance, pal, did I feel I had the necessary experience to make any demands of the workforce I so desperately needed to become a part of.  Maybe now, I do.

 How do people get cool jobs?
How do you draw a salary from a point of inspiration and awe?

I know determination, persistence, and confidence are integral parts of that equation.
I suspect refusing to settle plays a part, as well.

Do I have what it takes to curate this quality of life for myself? Does this thought scare me? Do I even know what it is I’m after?

maybe/yes/no LET’S GO.

———

11953022_10155955735790543_1962247009303676843_n

“But more than just a record label, RAAR will also feature photographs, poems, artwork, and stories that will go along with every release (how’s that for innovation?).”

Lyrics from her upcoming “SHADOWWORK” EP.

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

