On The Ropes

Powerful moment in the gym yesterday that had nothing to do with training.

I went into the locker room to shower and as I was setting my bag away, I noticed a man pacing at the other end of the bench, trying to catch his breath.  I had seen him at the start of class and was wary of his presence: baggy sweatpants and street shoes, standing there looking unkempt, sporting a ratty, dirty t-shirt…not the kind of aesthetic I would expect in the gym, and it made me uneasy about leaving my belongings while I was vulnerable in a towel.

I chose to diffuse the tension by simply speaking with him.  We chatted about working out at first (dude was fit); he offered me a protein supplement packet.  I asked him if he lived around here?  There was a brief pause.  “Nah man…I’m homeless.”

I was blown away.  Did not really know how to respond at first.  He offered a bit more insight: sheltered by a local church and fed by soup kitchens, he was doing his best to turn his life around.  I didn’t inquire further but from what I gathered he previously had made a living pushing hard drugs.  I shared that I could relate on a smaller level, being a couple years in recovery from alcoholism.

We met again over by the showers.  I asked if he had an umbrella or any kind of raincoat against the storm that was brewing outside.  He did not; nor a clean shirt.  After a beat, I turned the stream off in my stall and walked back over to my locker, offering him my umbrella & polo.  It was what I had worn during the day, but I surely hope it was a better alternative to him hand-washing the sweat and dirt from the shirt he had just done a session in.

Upon sharing this encounter with my roommate she immediately said “Oh you should have invited him for dinner!”  Ever the saint, Emily.  I was just so caught off guard I didn’t think much beyond the right then & there.  He said he has a few more complimentary sessions with the gym, so I hope I see him again.  I hope what little I could offer helped.

Judge not, lest ye be judged.  Remember that the people around you, be they family, friends, strangers, lovers, coworkers, sworn enemies, or a guy in your gym training session…are all coping with their own struggles.  Perhaps some may seem more dire than others, but the fact remains: we’re all human.  A little acknowledgement of this fact goes a long way.

We only get to keep what parts of this program we give back.  Grateful for the opportunity to do so.

———

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

