Brite Nites

dda870412383427ddafb945e2a3fe92c

Electric Forest being a music festival held in Michigan, when I was there for a weekend at the end of June I could certainly get an eye for those who were local residents.  This was primarily through apparel, mostly t-shirts (though at one point a kid nudged me in the crowd during the middle of a set and said, “Hey. Remember POGS?” when I said “Of course.” he handed me one with the state outline & capital of Michigan on it, and turned and walked away. #Only90sKidsWillRemember).  My favorite shirt slogan that I spotted was a simple one: ‘DETROIT HUSTLES HARDER.’

 3923873824_4370044790_9bafca7e5f_xlarge

Playin’ POGS.

Bold claim, appointing a city such a superlative.  But you know what?  Pretty sure they do.  I did not visit Detroit on my trip, but have spoken with people who have… and as far as I can tell, it presents a rare example of when the media doesn’t grossly exaggerate the bleak socioeconomic makeup of a troubled metropolis.  That is some real shit out there.

Occasionally the topic of relative economic struggle will come up with my roommate as we talk about where we’re at, where we’ve come from, where we’re heading.  We see ourselves through the refractive lens of ‘living here, but not from here.’  As this great nation continues to tear itself asunder through a widening earnings (and ability to earn) gap, it becomes a more rooted reality that “The American Dream” of jumping up an income bracket or several is not one that will be possible in my career, despite my hardest hustle (my hardest hustle that doesn’t involve selling my soul, anyway).

And so it’s really from an outsider’s perspective that I “feel the weight” of hardships endured by my fellow southern Nutmeggers (Connecticut, aka The Nutmeg State).  The kinds of problems that people with too much money create for themselves are staggering.  It would be an interesting read were I to interview all the nannies/house managers I’ve met in Fairfield County and catalog the shit they deal with on a daily basis.

Nevertheless, while I may find that the lust for heinous excess clashes with the mindful approach to living that my recovery program has guided me towards…I also have to be grateful that this is my lot, and that I’m not trying to get/stay sober on the hardened streets of a steely city like Detroit.

Connecticut is pretty clearly a stepping stone in my mind, and I’ve stated as much in writing before. But more than a stepping stone, it’s a seaside cove that can harbor me as long as I need before heading out to navigate uncharted waters.

It’s all relative; it’s all perspective. Nahmean?

———

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

