Flipping the Switch

Two major 21st-century services celebrated anniversaries today, and the acknowledgment gave me pause to consider the pace and scope of life as we know it.

Default video streaming website aka “the TV of the Internet” YouTube turned 10, and the Connecticut branch of populist ride-share taxi program Uber hit the 1-year mark.  Why is this important?  It’s really not, but then you consider the fact that I watch most of my television programming through my computer and that I’ve virtually never had to “hail” a cab in the tri-state area…and that these are by and large social norms now.

Little bits of life here and there are made quicker and more compact and easier to unpack…but consequently with how much space and time we’re saving, the sheer volume and accessibility of all these parts ironically has a tendency to complicate the whole process of, y’know, living.

I yearn for simplicity but have grown so accustomed to convenience…better call the fire department, we’ve got quite a conundrum on our hands here.  I’m torn between this place of working really hard to keep up, and slowly leaning back and letting it slide.  Letting go; losing touch.

54ff263cce567db5a441321afc9b8f16_84roqBhC_l

There is further irony in the nature of my industry being so forward-thinking in the use of new tech & apps.  There’s never been a better time to dabble in media!  I want to distance myself from the new platforms that seem to be endlessly rolling out; the buzzwords bloviated with hot air and little sturdiness or substance to back them up.  There is a bit of a risk to this mindset, because how can I do my job well if I back away from doing…my job?

I’m forming sort of a plan to address this.  Loosely, it involves circling back to the “how” and “why” of pre-digital marketing and sharing.  How we told stories.  Why we shared them with our friends.  That, coupled with a re-focusing on the basic tenets of social psychology…I mean I know this kind of work is already being done, and I’m nowhere near the first person to push back from digital (#hipsters), but I believe I can bring a unique perspective to an oversaturated field and make an honest difference.

This is, in a way, what I am doing with my recovery — and in turn my life.  Going back to my roots.  Finding out who I was, why I liked that person, and employing him to do good work again.  There are days when this “rebranding,” as it were, goes more smoothly than others.  Uncertainty begets Misdirection begets Confusion begets Fear begets Frustration begets Anger.  That does happen.

But mostly, really, I just want caring about myself and my fellow man to become second-nature; an involuntary habit.  I harbored chippy feelings towards both for many years, and perhaps it is taking just as much time to chip them away again.

But we are getting there.

———

115739390695_pUIHcEhk_l

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

