Cover Me

The most profound thing I did for myself today: hung up a set of thermal, light-blocking curtains over the window that my bed is situated in front of.

The window comes with blinds installed, but it is still not the same as having a set of beefy drapes to set the mood.  I’ve been in this apartment for a month now (a month!), and preferentially I take my sleep lighting like I take my coffee: totally black / properly filtered.

Co-workers & friends have been asking what plans I have for the 3-day weekend ahead, but mostly?  I’m grateful to have time to myself to test out the opaqueness of these bad boys with a heaping dose of s l e e p i n g  i n.

Aside from embracing some much-needed rest, it’s been over two months since I’ve been to Brooklyn to see music…the city she calls me, but the below-zero forecast, she thwarts me.  I still marvel at just how OK I am with doing absolutely nothing with my weekends these days.

Easy Does It // One Day at a Time: good for your health.  I like that I don’t need a full social calendar to feel personally & internally validated.  Wasn’t always like that, though.  And of course the kicker in those days was that while validation through socialization is what I thought I was seeking, the reality was much more rooted in alcohol use & consumption.

I liked the pretext of being social, so that I could unassumingly satiate the monkey on my back with banana daiquiris while making a show of participating in the culture of everyone else.   Can you teach an old chimp new tricks?  Maybe, but in my case it was best to open the cage and let him scamper back into the wild, away from my attempt on civilized decency & appropriate behavior.  Drunk monkeys are the worst public cohorts, man.  That I’m speaking in monkey metaphors probably means it’s high time to stop posting & turn in for some shut-eye, so all I will say here is that I’m grateful I’m no longer caged in that alcoholic zoo, and am free to roam about as I like without some handler dictating my every move.

———

wd_quote_0071

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

