Daily Affirmation

tumblr_mmpmx9vGrB1qz9ddwo1_1280
Emotions are to be observed & acknowledged, but never taken as cardinal law of self-appraisal.

This Too Shall Pass.

No matter what “it” is, it always does.  Always.  It’s a waste of time and energy to let emotions, especially the negative ones, dictate how your day (see also: your entire life) is going.

For example, I get frustrated when I don’t accomplish all that I had laid out in my mind for any given period of productive activity…so what?  There will be always be more time.  We have literally almost nothing but time.  There are external pressures and imposing deadlines…but we’ll live.  Setting out to write a cohesive/substantive blog post on a daily basis, for subexample.  Not every entry can be a winner.  Not every entry has to be a winner, either.  As a writer/artist/creative, SO often do I look back on a published work and think, “Weak/lame/gross/terrible/cringe-inducing. Why did I put my name on that.”

The fact that not every time I put fingertips to keyboard does it result in a masterpiece is evidence I am human, and not some robot algorithmically pumping out cleverly-worded zenisms.  This is what embarking on a daily writing itinerary is teaching me.  Like, #DualityOfMan, man.  It was my goal to update content every single day when I began this project, back in early 2013.  I adhered to that regimen for a while — while I still had so many fresh and new topics to ponder, early in my recovery.

Then I reached a point where I had expressed a lot, and the wellspring of insight started to feel a little dried up.  I slowly let it slide (as other parts of my life became more prominent, on a simultaneous scale).  Even now, with many novel experiences under my belt since I first launched the blog, I still can’t help but feel that I reiterate many of the same underlying themes; they are just applied differently, to a shifted framework of constructs and experiences.

I think that says a lot about a good recovery program.  Place an addict or alcoholic in any unfamiliar setting- foreign, challenging, upsetting, stressing, bland, intriguing, exciting, terrifying -anything.  If their program is true, and they to it, they will always find their way back home.  And I don’t mean back to a physical structure they recognize as meaningful.  I mean back to the home inside themselves.  Back to center.  Despite chaos abounding, they will root down & connect to the emotional and/or spiritual solidity they know is there.

So yeah.  Maybe everything isn’t hopeless bullshit.
Because even when it feels like it is, really what your mind is doing is making a temporary judgment call influenced by impending emotions that are fickle and fleeting.
Stay grateful, stay true, stay above the rest.

———

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

