It’s On You

Earlier this evening, I logged into a now-defunct social media profile of mine that was primarily used for many years, to cross-reference a little but mostly just for fun.  Scrolling the page for old photos & post content, I had two immediate thoughts:

  1. Booze weight.
  2. Existential angst.

My generation has the unique ability to catalog our transition from adolescence to adulthood via points of reference in Facebook posts, Twitter updates, and all manner of publicly-released media in between.  Reading through a bit of material shared during my senior year of college, I can see plain as day how miserable I was & how much I struggled to understand what I was dealing with.

A period rife with internal emotional conflict, that was.  “I’m closing in on the end of my college experience, I should be soaking up every last moment and fondly reminiscing with classmates as we prepare to move on to the next phase of life…so why do I instead despise everything and everyone, including myself?”  Of course alcohol never provided the answer (hint: it was, in part, the very cause); but, it was at least comforting enough to keep drinking my way through it.  If you had told me then that 4 years later I’d have been sober for 2…“Fuck off.” is probably the response you’d have heard.  That’s the thing about active alcoholics — the thought of not drinking is literally incomprehensible.

There is also fear in the concept of no longer having the crutch of drinking, and being drunk, to rely on.  How in the hell could I be expected to deal with the insurmountable level of bullshit day-in day-out, if I couldn’t put up a thick sheet of liquor between myself and the rest of the world??  It was like a liquid security blanket.  Except as I wrapped it tighter and tighter around myself, instead of relative insulation…it provided acute suffocation.  I was just too scared to take it off.

My personal recovery program is as much about overcoming chemical dependencies as it is learning practical coping methods & leaving cowardly escapism in the dust.  Face the world head-on; don your battle armor layered in plates of mindfulness, zen, compassion, and integrity; wear your sobriety like a medal of honor; conquer all.  Get hyped on life.  Live for yourself.  No one else is going to do it for you.

———


It’s on you / you can choose / where you want to go in life /
No one said / that the road / would be paved all smooth an’ nice

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

