Two Years’ Time

“If you always do what you always did, you’ll always get what you always got.” Well, it seems the old A.A. adage works in the other direction, as well: I’ve done what I never before did, and in turn have been rewarded with what I never before had.

IMG_3408
12.03.2012 – 12.03.2014.

Two full years have now elapsed, since I admitted powerlessness and began my first steps on my journey to do something about it.  To put that timeframe into a succinct context, I would say that Year One was foundational rebuilding & cultivating stability; Year Two was piecemeal adding/fitting of concrete blocks of life on top of Year One, and continuing to put distance between myself and my Last Drink.

My heart is full. Full of gratitude and love. Full of humility (the Ego, of course, remains ever-present — but still). Overall, I am “wanting” less. For me to demand that I need any one thing or another in order to feel truly happy or fulfilled would be a disservice to my sobriety and the work I have done in my recovery program. I happen to be so, so fortunate that right now, my personal struggle to provide bare necessities for myself is very minimal. There is no guarantee that life will remain on an even keel throughout (and/or only improve with age)…I have no desire to take for granted what I have in the here & now. In the present. Easy Does It. One Day At a Time. When stressors or emotions flare…This Too Shall Pass.

There are many improvements to be made, in terms of a wholesome self on the path to actualization…but it all starts with living above the control of a substance. Which, for me, would not be possible without the support I receive from my network of friends and family, day-in and day-out. Here’s to Two Years’ Time, and may they be replicated 50 times over in the future.

—–

Full of steak, love, & gratitude last night.
Full of steak, love, & gratitude last night.
Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

