Grateful Sunday #26: Summer Time, All The Time

Vibes for miles.

We’re in the peak of the season, and I’m simply grateful for sunshine, a cool breeze, and long hours of daylight.  Despite the sometimes overbearing heat, I’ve been trying to get outside as much as I can and soak it all up.  Gotta cling to those memories of warmth over the drab ‘n dreary winter that seems to last eons.  Accordingly, I have been keeping to a somewhat-regular jogging regimen.

Image

I believe the app is called “Nike Plus Running,” and it’s free and works quite well for tracking & timing.

The above spans 05.27.13 – 07.28.13 (I got a kickin’ new pair of running shoes for my birthday at the end of May, so I figured that would be a good time to make a serious go of this).  Over those two months, I probably had somewhere between seven and ten days where I was away or otherwise completely preoccupied (weekend in Vermont, Camp Bisco, etc.).  So it probably comes out to between 50 and 55 days that I was able to jog; I ran on 23 of those.  Averages to nearly once every other day…not bad, but I’d like to get that to four times a week rather than three.

Anyway, over the past two months I’ve shaved roughly a minute off my average 3mi time, and dropped 5-6 pounds.  The results are coming slowly, but progress is being made.  Feels good, man.  And with each passing day, I become that much more comfortable and confident in my sober skin.  The saying goes “One day at a time,” but I really understand why they also say your first year is your hardest, and most important.  It takes time to fully, truly, and completely accept a life of sobriety – no matter how mentally prepared for it you are, there are just so many, many readjustments to be made.  I feel like I’m making forward progress there, as well.

Saw this guy (Perseus, who remixed the above track) DJ at Camp Bisco, as well.  I just can’t get enough of this sensual-emotional deep house stuff.  Good for the soul.

Along with this increased acceptance has come a settling sense of contentment, regarding my social participation and “status.”  I still compulsively check my various social media outlets for updates, but now more as a distraction than a real “investment.”  The surprising truth is…most people are just not that interesting.  There are of course people in my life who are very important to me, but for the most part I just don’t care anymore what “everyone else” is doing.  A big part of this detachment comes from practicing true independence – being OKAY WITH the notion that maybe your own day-to-day is not as exhilarating as it could be, too.

tumblr_lyfzunFs0G1qmi862o1_400

Why do we need to be doing THE BEST thing, with THE COOLEST people, ALL the time?  We don’t.  GQ breaks down the golden pedestal of FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out):

“Do you know how much work it takes to be one of those people who is at the right place at the right time, all the time? An awful lot of exertion—blood, sweat, tears, texts, e-mails, tweets, Facebook lurks, and most of all, fear—goes into making the social arts look effortless. It’s that fear that makes them work so hard.”

Full article here: http://www.gq.com/news-politics/mens-lives/201308/instagram-fomo-disorder-treatment-plan?mbid=social_twitter_gqmagazine

I can honestly say that right now, I’m happier than I have been at any point in probably the past almost 4 years.  Make no mistake – there’s still serious work to be done and recovery is a long, winding road – but at least I’m smiling about it.  And for that I’m grateful.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

5478383c6679e3dd46b84b199dd89cfad24cc014_m

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

