Grateful Sunday #24 & #25: Spontaneous Serendipity & An Overdose Of Awesome (Music)

The past few weeks have been abnormally fun and just generally positive for me.  I spent much of June sweating the cash situation on whether or not I would be able to scrape enough together for a ticket to the one music festival I hoped to attend this summer…and this past weekend I was able to indulge in said celebration of music and culture.  AND, the weekend before that…I was magically gifted a free ticket to see (for the first time ever)…PHISH at the highly esteemed Saratoga Performing Arts Center!  This show was a great overall experience, in particular because I got to spend some good time reconnecting with my cousin (who brought me along) and out-of-state friend (so cool to discuss fatherhood & his newborn baby!).  It has truly been a blessed couple of weekends of live music featured upon grand, outdoor stages.

Carini had a lumpy head!

For both outings, I was for the most part in the company of persons I was only loosely acquainted with, who did not necessarily know/understand the full scope of what my recovery program means to me.  That said, it has really become a non-issue in potentially ‘dangerous’ settings with slightly less aware groups of people.  It’s often as easy as a simple “Nah, no thanks” when offered a beer; but I’m finding that almost just as easily, I can give a basic explanation of why I don’t drink, and from that point forward the alcohol becomes much less a focus, for both myself and those around me.

I’m really most comfortable when everyone proceeds as they normally would – it just so happens to be the case that personally, I won’t be taking a drink, thank you.   So that’s pretty much how I handled it.  Over the weekend of camping I was offered a few drinks out of sheer politeness, my companions having forgotten my sobriety…but it was no matter, I passed and no big deal was made of it.  Honestly, to that end: it’s very interesting to watch others struggle with social cues and mores, in new and unpredictable situations (such as camping among tens of thousands of strangers for a weekend).  People generally tend to feel a bit more confident after a few cups (or cans or shots or what have you) of ‘liquid courage.’

Available in HD.

There were multiple occasions, however, where the tension was palpable (as novel experiences are wont to be) – and was really only eased when I stepped up to diffuse/alleviate any perceived awkwardness (as I have a habit of picking up on and absolving).  When I was out drinking I had always been particularly fearless with a bottle in hand (my quick wit and sharp tongue had the qualities of both a blessing and a curse, in those situations); but as it were, I am perfectly adept when lucidly sober.

I’ve been attending summer music festivals for about five years now, and this most recent affair at Camp Bisco (‘Bisco’ being slang for ‘The Disco Biscuits’) was both different and progressive, for a number of reasons.  Firstly, partying sans alcohol – I was able to remember all the great acts I saw – and I saw a lot of them.  Not being completely tackhammered for three straight days also meant no worries of dehydration/alcohol poisoning…nor did I have any nagging fear in the back of my mind that I might present a safety concern to anyone around me, thus avoiding confrontation with staff and/or security.  Secondly, at this point myself and my core group of friends are well into post-grad life, and accordingly are all at any number of varying points in adult life.  Thus, this summer has seen something of a fragmentation of properly orchestrated trips and parties; not because we’re drifting apart, but more so because you take life on life’s terms, ya heard?

The background track featured in this one is a remix of one of my favorite artists (Disclosure) by another of my favorite artists (Flume) and is full of feels. Really captures the essence; recommended viewing.

For this reason, I was without any of my clan of brethren, who are usually right there next to me in the dusty mud, fighting and storming our way through the crowds and natural elements.  This did not present a problem for me, in terms of my sobriety…but it was definitely not the same, comfort-wise.  A huge, underlying part of the festival experience (for me, anyway) is connecting on deeper, more intimate levels with the human psyche.  I just couldn’t quite reach those levels with the people I spent the weekend with this year (very nice people though they were).

Indeed, I found this most recent festival experience altogether more isolating, in certain respects, than any previous.  I love meeting new people in the front row of any given set of inspired music, and then consequently discussing said music with them.  However, I just could not seem to make those connections this year.  I believe this could be for a few reasons: 1) potentially I was more introspective than during past events, without alcohol to bolster my venturous spirit; 2) the scene has become much more mainstream/less underground in recent years, and thus has attracted a fair amount of poseurs and substance abusers; 3) I am simply getting older, and am craving more “adult” interactions.

As does this one, though.

So, I found myself standing solo for a good handful of sets over the weekend (finding a cluster of three people among some 10,000 is unsurprisingly tasking).  I can be totally and completely content doing this, but at the same time…I did find myself wishing I had a companion.  And I think, I’ve come to realize, I yearn for more than just a group of good friends to accompany me in during concert outings.  No, what I’d really like is to be able to share these magical experiences with a significant other…and one who reciprocates my appreciation for the scene and culture, at that.  Here’s hoping that by the time I again have the disposable income to invest in a camping festival, my search has borne fruitful results.

In any case, I had an absolute blast. I did end up running into some old Rochester acquaintances (including my one of my former employers), which I was kind of expecting but also kind of anxious about…but it was no big deal, really; nothing was brought up about the past (i.e., me vanishing from their scene without a trace when I left for home/rehab), and they were genuinely glad to see me.  Camp was precisely the mini-vacation I needed.  Time to dig back into reality, refreshed and reinvigorated by my participation in a collective of my favorite styles of music, art, culture, and life.  Here is a (roughly) chronological photo account of the weekend; enjoy!

photo

Had my 7 months around my neck the whole weekend, standing vanguard against potentially hostile territory.

IMG_0001

Wristy Bisco!  Textile bands are where it’s at.

IMG_0098

Dark Side of the Van.

IMG_0100

The anticipation is killing my carpool friends.

IMG_0103

Arrived to the festival GPS coordinates: ~8:30pm.  Arrived inside the actual camping grounds: ~4:00am.

IMG_0104

<3.  My boy Danny (whom I met & bonded over music with in rehab at Tully Hill) takes a break from driving to snap a photo with his girl.

IMG_0105

Car in front of us in the line to get in knows what’s up. #SoStupidLikeAG6

IMG_0106

Opted for tea & vitamin water instead of booze for the weekend.  Teabags get the idea.  Also note my sunburned-as-the-devil’s toes. #OUCH

IMG_0112

First set of the weekend (Thursday, about 2:30pm).  I actually worked with/ran promo for these guys (known as ‘The Manhattan Project’) a few times in Rochester.  They killed it!

IMG_0110

Biggest crowd they’ve ever played for, too!  Inside the BIG Tent.

IMG_0113

IMG_0114

IMG_0119

No doubt that you are, miss.  These are called “rage sticks” or “totems,” and are used as identifiers when among massive throngs of concertgoers.  I put up with them because the bands do, but more often than not I find they just obstruct my view of the show I paid good money to see (especially since I stand oh-so-tall…it’s these long dancer’s legs I’ve got, I just can’t help it).

IMG_0116

Australian DJ Nick Thayer, whom I’ve been a fan of for years, getting some big recognition and destroying the Thursday afternoon crowd with his electro set.

IMG_0117

::DJ arms-raised pose::

IMG_0121

‘Cosby Sweater’ feat. Joel Cummins of Umphrey’s McGee on keys, laying down some saxy beats.

IMG_0122

IMG_0123

Bustin’ out the e-sax.

IMG_0126

Campsite neighbors put in WORK on the road to be here.  Props.

IMG_0127

Breaking down racial barriers at Camp Bisco.  People love to get weird out in the sticks. #progressive #kinky

IMG_0128

Brendan Bayliss of Umphrey’s McGee trying hard not to be distracted by the bi-racial…uh…”celebration” taking place before him.

IMG_0131

Umphrey’s McGee feat. David Murphy of Sound Tribe Sector 9 on bass (their own bassist very recently had a baby with his long-time girlfriend, and thus was back at home).

IMG_0134

Bassist Marc Brownstein of The Disco Biscuits also sat in.

IMG_0136

Guitarist Jon “The Barber” Gutwillig also joined the superjam for a rendition of the Biscuits’ staple fan-favorite “Home Again.”

IMG_0138

IMG_0140

My favorite rage stick of the weekend.

IMG_0143

Keytar duel!  Joel Cummins of UM vs. Aron Magner of tDB.  My favorite shot of the weekend (this is Thursday evening, by the way).

IMG_0144

Sound Tribe Sector 9 takes the stage with some very heady LED visuals.

IMG_0147

They also brought in an absolutely magnificent sunset with them.

IMG_0146

Unreal.

IMG_0148

Things started to get a little weird when we ran into our Minnesota neighbors back at the campsite, taking a break between sets.

IMG_0149

IMG_0150

…so there’s that.

IMG_0153

Com Truise. Rich, crunchy ’80s-influenced synth breaks accompanied by a live drum kit.  Like a deep-tissue brain massage.

IMG_0166

And then we have Squarepusher.  If Com Truise is a brain massage, this guy is a musical lobotomy.  He did some inhuman things with the low-end bass frequency.

IMG_0173

IMG_0174

Over to Boys Noize (late night Thursday) for some straight party in the BIG Tent.

IMG_0175

#LAZERS

IMG_0178

IMG_0181

Back over to Squarepusher in the Label Tent, where he treated us to some live bass guitar to accompany his crazy-elaborate live DJ setup.

IMG_0185

IMG_0186

Sinister.

IMG_0190

Dawn approaches as I charge the ol’ iPhone from the hill, where some standing outlets were conveniently located.

IMG_0196

Graffiti at the art sculpture was on point.

IMG_0197

Hand-drawn.

IMG_0199

Live violin over dubstep beats.  Purrty cool.

IMG_0200

Dude’s name was ‘Govinda,’ I believe.

IMG_0202

Spiderlights.

IMG_0204

Toro Y Moi, who were synth-funky as hell.

IMG_0206

Body painting in the middle of the main stage field.

IMG_0207

OK!

IMG_0212

The BIG Tent was, well…BIG.

IMG_0213

Brahcques Cousteau crowdsurfing an inflatable whale.

IMG_0215

My boy MOON BOOTS laying it down so smooth and sensual. Mmph.

IMG_0216

Stepped out of the tent Friday evening to another glorious sunset.

IMG_0220

Lotus blows the lid off the BIG Tent late-night Friday.

IMG_0222

Faces = melted.

IMG_0225

IMG_0230

IMG_0231

Fiya jugglas.

IMG_0236

‘bloon chain!

IMG_0239

Gramatik = big beat samples + live guitar riffs.  Crunch ‘n’ funk.  The good stuff.

IMG_0243

My camping pard’ners!  With the Biscuits’ outlandish $75,000 light rig blasting away in the background.

IMG_0244

And finally, the ever-funky BoomBox (or rather their silhouettes) to close out late-night Saturday.  What a long, strange trip it’s been.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

tumblr_lmjxypNfXx1qh7yo9o1_500

 

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

