Grateful Sunday (Friday) #21: Get Busy

The past 7-10 days have just been a whirlwind of non-stop activity (thus the lapse in original material).  Let me see if I can succinctly recount my recent goings-ons:

– Completed my outpatient therapy program last Wednesday (great success!)
– Which consequently made me eligible to apply for my full driver’s license
– Traveled with my mom and brother up to Vermont last weekend to watch him compete in a club soccer tournament
– DID get my driver’s license restored
– Got a call to interview for a part-time “inventory-taker” position I applied for
– Drove myself to the interview and was hired on the spot (read: got a damn job)
– Over the course of one late night, spent 7 hours in the ER with my sister so she could get an IV & antibiotics to treat a brutal infection
– Received family from Florida to the house earlier in the week, as I have a cousin getting married tomorrow (today)
– Went in for a 3-hour training session for the inventory-taking position
– Attended a large-scale wedding “pre-party,” featuring lots of family and some old acquaintances not seen in years

And in between all this, I have been doing well managing my regular jogging routine (14 runs since 05/27 – the Nike+ Running app helps me stay on task); my step actually feels a few pounds lighter for it (though my stomach does not necessarily reflect this).  So sleep this week has felt more like playing catch-up than actual rest, and somehow I still feel behind on it. But I have to say: it feels good to be busy again.

tumblr_m2dvpiZWKa1qz6f9yo1_r1_500

As I suspected it would, having the privilege to legally drive at any hour of the day restored to me has made the flow of life seem much more natural.  Had not realized how much I took having a car/being able to drive it for granted, but wow.  What a difference it makes, for my deflated sense of autonomy & self-empowerment.  Having control over my mobility seems to have deflected some of the intensity of focus on what I would call “the needs of my program,” i.e. daily meetings, outpatient appointments, etc.  Not that I’m abandoning my duties to sobriety in favor of my free will; rather, just that I no longer will constantly require assistance from others to properly manage them.

This newfound freedom has come at a good time.  The other day I caught myself nostalgically remember last year’s summer days in Rochester, when I basically roamed the streets as I pleased without any sort of restraint.  I still have not completely gotten over the fact that there are certain “oppressions” I must now subject myself to.  In my old life, the outlandish fantasies of my wildest imagination were limited only by the collection of numbers electronically stored on a plastic card tucked in the fold of my wallet.  Nobody likes to be told they can’t.  And really it’s not that I can’t; it’s that I won’t.  My damn brain will for the rest of my life try to convince me that maybe I should, but I’m smarter than myself.  Have to be, anyway.

chaotic_creative

Vermont last weekend was a blast, though.  We went out for a celebratory Outback Steakhouse dinner Saturday night (the team placed 2nd; a huge improvement on last year’s no-win weekend), and it was here that I remembered how much I enjoy/had missed casual conversation with adults my parents’ age.  Not that this was an aspect entirely missing from my life, but I just hadn’t realized how long it had been since I’d had a casual night out.  Alcohol was mostly a non-issue.  I do remember once longingly eying the glass of whiskey the gentleman across from me was sipping while we were talking…what a sick fucking disease it is, that it can make you salivate like a dog over a t-bone, in the presence of a rocks glass of scotch.  At this point I know it’s not a risk; it really just makes me angry that I involuntarily feel that way, more than anything.

tumblr_ljjqp5D4DB1qzrblzo1_500

Well it is now 3a.m., and I have a full day of wedding ahead of me.  This post will be continued in Sunday’s gratitude, as I haven’t covered fully what I intended to.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

CzKSB

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

