This Is A Medium

So, between browsing job postings and music blogs, I like to entertain myself by following this series of tubes known as the Internet as deep as it goes (well maybe not that deep).  Sometimes I search for interesting, artistic stimulation; other times, just mindless amusement.  Regardless, I do try to gain something valuable out of time spent aimlessly clicking (since I usually should be sleeping instead).  Consequently, about 99% of the supplemental material I include on here (i.e. pictures) comes from hours spent at the keyboard.

It had never really occurred to me to use the web as a recovery tool, but I’ve recently been venturing more and more into the world of reddit (and its division of subreddits), and found this:

Image

http://www.reddit.com/r/stopdrinking/

I haven’t yet made an account for myself so I can share my experience/strength/hope, as they say, but I found myself relieved to have found an online community dedicated to helping one another through the program.   It’s comforting to find a place full of people I can more closely relate to, via my most commonly used method of communicating.  I love the colorful cast of characters I find in my regular meetings, but many of them are a few generations older or of different socioeconomic class.  My leisurely pursuits are simply different from many of theirs.

tumblr_m26ec9QaKO1rtut7po1_1280

Speaking of common interests, I was recently discussing with my uncle the nature of people in A.A. and how relationships are formed within the program (over the course of a drive into Syracuse for a job interview; the ride is greatly appreciated).  I have seen it to be a fairly regular occurrence that if one partner in a couple is involved with the program, so too is the other.  Accordingly, if someone in the program is intimately involved with an individual in active addiction, their recovery often takes a huge hit for it (no pun intended).

I believe I’ve mentioned in passing before, but the more I think about it the more I find it likely that I will eventually commit to someone who is actively working in the program.  While there certainly exist potential mates outside of A.A. who do not use or drink (those in the substance abuse counseling field, those who have simply chosen a drug-free life, etc), my exposure to definitively sober individuals is statistically much higher in the rooms of Alcoholics Anonymous.

tumblr_lvbym3lxyy1r5v2aso1_500

But given the demographics of those in recovery for this particular area, I don’t see myself finding a viable partner in the immediate future.  What I’d really like is to immerse myself in a geographical area that prominently features an underground music scene, and let relationships form and progress as they will.  Music and alcohol have been intertwining constants in my life since way back, and now that I’ve deleted the one, I’d like find someone with whom I can share my passion for the other.

Until then, I’ll be finding my way.  I now present to you the original impetus for this post, a 3AM gem wrought from who knows where: a cut off of “Scruff McGruff’s Drug Protection and Child Protection Program” platinum-selling cassette tape album from the mid-1980’s.  This could almost be a Steely Dan b-side.  Worth the listen.

“Hey, open up your eyes /
You’ve got to see /
Alcohol fills your world with lies /
Listen to me!”

Why turn to booze when you’ve got all that groove?

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

