Grateful Sunday (Tuesday) #14: Resilience, Personified

I attempted to start this post three different times last night, but each effort seemed to be little more than a paragraph or so of critical analysis on life as a 20something in contemporary society.  Which I have no desire to write about anymore – there’s only so many ways one can air their grievances, and I don’t imagine it makes for interesting reading to begin with.

So ultimately I discarded each potential beginning.  But in almost every other instance where I’ve faced dissatisfaction with my writing, I have been able to regroup and pull coherent, cohesive paragraphs from within.  In an uncharacteristic turn, I just could not get the words to come last night.  I became fairly unnerved, and eventually conceded that no good writing was going to formulate in front of my eyes during that session.

497461a350a12f5271dbf9221f58365a6a940f64_m

Point being: I would rather conserve words & more wholly develop ideas, than just spit some trite crap for the sake of posting at a regular interval.  Producing original content daily requires an enormous amount of mental gathering and creative output.  Were I solely running a music blog (which I’m still toying with the idea of starting), there would be an endless stream of new tracks, releases, and news – all I would need to do would be properly phrase & format them.

Consequently, it would be easy enough for me to neglect or completely abandon this project.  I’ve previously stated the various reasons why I believe it prudent & necessary to keep it running, but all the same – it does take work.  Many of those that are still sick & suffering face failure in recovery because of this very problem.  It is much easier to start a period of sobriety, when the horror of your last drink, your last rock-bottom, is still fresh in your mind.  But once that initial hunger for health begins to fade, are you prepared to put in the hard work required to maintain?

Rock-bottom-became-the-solid-foundation-on-which-I-rebuild-my-life-JK-Rowling

As stubborn as a drunk as I was, I can be equally if not more stubborn when it comes to my recovery.  Face Everything And Recover, as they say.  There are certain achievements in life that require precisely the right combination of luck & advantage; for example, running a successful Presidential campaign is something only a very small minority of the population will ever be privilege to (head still reeling from 8 straight years of Dubya…and we only narrowly escaped 4-to-8 of Mittens).

Living sober is not one of those rare life situations.  As Theodor Herzl once wrote, “If you will it, it is no dream.”  With the right attitude and work ethic, any one being on this Earth may enjoy the benefits of sobriety.  In the parlance of our times, I’m “’bout that sober life” (these ‘hip’ slang phrases amuse me so, because they’re so casually tossed around by well-adjusted Caucasian teens who possess little to no street cred and even less an understanding of the words that come out of their own mouths // end rant).

tumblr_l83b9dzF0X1qzn0kbo1_500

While I root my definition of resilience firmly in my recovery program, it of course applies to almost all aspects of my life.  Today I found out that the ad sales job I was hopeful for, that I had a second-round interview for…is interviewing potential candidates for another TWO WEEKS.  So realistically, I don’t have high hopes for being hired on there.  There’s a good chance they’ll be able to pull someone with advanced sales experience & a more qualified resume – but then again, who knows?

What I realized, though, is that even if I had been informed that the newspaper had chosen someone else for the position, my reaction would have been little more than a sigh and a shrug.  Yes, it’s probably the most ideal form of employment I’ve come across in the past three months.  So what?  There is literally no use in throwing myself, discouraged & dejected, into an apathetic malaise.  That will in no way get me a job.  Onward & upward, my dear boy!

4f28f6d71861330f79008856

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

[Ed. note: However…it is now May, and with each day that goes by without earning, my freedom/flexibility for summer plans becomes that much more jeopardized, and a summer without music would be…just tragic. Seriously I don’t think I’ve not gone to a handful of summer shows since I was junior in high school.  Perspective, man.]

tumblr_mitvdudODh1rgz4mdo1_500

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

