The In Sound From Way Out, Pt. II

Continuing the retrospective, I had realized that I had responded well to social stimuli, and that I was operating with a fair level of comfort & confidence throughout.  Following that venture, a similar opportunity presented itself for me to visit friends & see a show the next weekend.  I was excited at the prospect of seeing more faces I hadn’t seen in nearly 8 months (and in the setting of live music, no less), but planning this trip required some careful deliberation: a) it was only within days of my first real outing that I would be on the road again, and b) my destination was to be The City That Never Sleeps.

“It’s the rhythm of the rain that falls /
It’s a cab ride at 5 a.m. /
Manhattan goddess with your Levi’s and curls /
New York City, I’m comin’ home again”

 

Much the same way I developed a love for the city of Toronto over the course of my college career (when I was closer to the border & could make a fast 3-hour drive up to participate in their thriving music scene), I too have come to harbor a genuine affinity for New York.  The issue with making a trip down so early in recovery is that it is arguably the busiest, most rapid-fire area I could put myself in.  Which in turn means exponentially more opportunities for temptations to present themselves.

tumblr_loxh5f0QdM1qzr4iuo1_400

Ultimately I decided the key factor in a successful visit to the city would be the support from my closest friends, that are fully aware of my situation & decision, and behind it 100%.  I spent 3 days traversing various parts of Midtown, Jersey City, Brooklyn, Central Park, Connecticut, wherever; when it came down to it, my companions just asked me to be open regarding my comfort level in any given situation.  As it played out, we approached our plans & interactions no differently than we would have 6 months ago.  It was simple: everything was to remain as it was, minus alcohol for me personally.

Had I felt uncomfortable or been struck with cravings at any point, I had supportive people with me who were more than willing to accommodate my well-being.  Because I was so at ease in the company of those that I spent my time with, I was able to enjoy myself without having to be on alert 100% of the time.  It really felt good to be back “out” in the world.  Especially in such a vibrant, thriving city.  I really cannot express my love for New York enough.

tumblr_m3v5stiyUY1qlkly8

For example, my original impetus aside from visiting friends was to catch a DJ set in Brooklyn Thursday night (Poolside, who provided 90 minutes of pure groove); the rest of the weekend was open to interpretation.  So on Saturday evening a large group of us got together at an Indian restaurant for dinner.  After the meal was finished we were trying to decide what we would do with the night.  This was a social situation where smartphone usage was not obnoxious, but actually helpful and even necessary.  Through the magic of the Internet/Facebook, we deduced there was another show happening at an awesome venue (Brooklyn Bowl – half concert hall, half bowling alley)…so just like that, we were en route to yet again a night of good music.  New York is like that – there are gems all over; sometimes you just have to dig a little.

Goldroom produces some damn good wavy synth pop.

Shouts out to Dan, Kale, Liz, Emily, and Kerry for all the hospitality/taking the time to show me around.  It means more to me than I can properly express, and I’m newly inspired by these fresh experiences in my life.  Speaking of, tomorrow morning I have a second-round interview with the local newspaper, for an ad sales position.  So I may be employed as early as next week! Here’s hoping.  Also encouraging to note that previously, this would be an occasion that would call for a night of indulgence & revelry in celebration – but no longer do I have a desire to acknowledge my accomplishments in such a way.  Life is good.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

goldroom

Goldroom bein’ all sexy and smooth.

48119_947336153756_152332151_n

Cheesin’

902034_4950910454493_408630720_o

892470_4950909974481_2123136379_o

Streets of Brooklyn

doges

Em’s dogs (well the family she’s a nanny for owns them) could not be happier after we walked them on a roundabout in the dog park.

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

