I Can See It In Your Face

 

I’ve been pretty lethargic the past two days (skipping out on both writings and workouts, and even a meeting).  So naturally it’s now Friday night and I’m feeling antsy and discontented after a lull in activity for a couple of days.  I’m finding weekends to be more and more a source of restlessness, due in part to the knowledge that this is the time of week when the majority of my peers are out socializing (or having other such life experiences).

 

I can’t really call it boredom, because I certainly have no lack of creative activities to keep my mind entertained/occupied.  There’s about a dozen books that I need to read, that I am very slowly picking my way through.  There’s a 2000-piece jigsaw puzzle on the dining room table I’ve made very minimal progress on.  I have plenty of writing to catch up on yet.  I have at least an hour a day of exercise to complete.  I have new music production/mixing software that will take me weeks to learn, and months to become accomplished in using properly.

 

I had told myself that moving home and laying low would be probably the one opportunity I will have for some time to really dig into my passions, as well as to explore new ones.  But after five months of essentially zero social activity with only minimal autonomy (and no cash income), it’s a bit difficult to stay in the moment.  I miss being among my people.  I was always drawn to the field of communication because it comes so naturally to me.

 

Not helping that today (writing has stretched from last night into today) St. Patrick’s Day is being celebrated all over.  Given the type of drunk I was, of course I loved a holiday that deemed it socially acceptable to begin imbibing whiskey at 9AM.  Even removing the alcohol context for a moment, though, I have had some truly great experiences on this weekend in past years.  There’s a hint of spring in the air; the youthful masses are out in force; everyone’s looking to have a jolly good time.  It’s not so simple as to just will away the yearning to be a part of that.

Image

Learning a lifestyle that is at once sober and socially rewarding takes time, patience, and effort.  On the bright side, I do have a great event to look forward to in the coming weeks: on Thursday April 4th, I’m traveling to Buffalo with my sister and meeting a friend from college to go see Louis C.K. perform a stand-up set.  Louis is my favorite comedian out right now, and I’ve never seen a “professional” set before, so I’m ecstatic at the prospect.

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

