Insanity Feats & Bathtub Beats

So, I started this thing today.

 

I set a goal for myself near the end of January to drop 20 lbs. by my 24th birthday (05.26.13).  After six weeks or so, I’ve gotten virtually no results.  I have vision, but lack discipline; my jogging workouts are inconsistent and a string of isolated sessions does nothing for me.

So I finally decided that, much like turning my will over to a Higher Power regarding my ability to stay sober, I was not going to accomplish this feat on my own.  I need a regular workout plan, and someone to push me to stick with it.  A personal trainer does not suit my needs, but this program has been around a few years and I’ve only heard good things about it.

So here we go: by the first week of May I will have completed the regimen, and hopefully be in the best shape of my life.  This will no doubt require a healthy dose of self-motivation in addition to the push from the virtual trainer, so I’ve taken the liberty of changing my desktop background accordingly, to keep it in my face (since most of my free time is spent at my laptop):

Image

Text is small here but you get the idea. Will be updated for month two.

This level of exertion in this short of a time span is essentially new territory for my body (23 is already sadly much less exuberant than 17…not to mention the 7+ years of poison I put in to it).  I will be sore in ways I did not know were possible.  What better excuse could there be for taking a heated bath on a regular basis! [Ed. note: this is a tie-in to the post below this one, which I reblogged from another site.]

Let me dig into my musical archives to procure some blissful serenity for just such an occasion as submerged meditation (sidenote: my bathroom has an overhead heat lamp in it, and to leave that on as the sole source of light for the room casts everything in a deep, red glow…couldn’t be more relaxing).

Downtempo but uplifting.

Download: http://trollmp3.com/audio/24615984/3662423/Morcheeba-The_Sea.mp3

From the album “Simple Things.”

Download: http://dl.soundowl.com/f6a.mp3

The original “Richest Man In Babylon” album is a staple of my downtempo collection, but this dub is fittingly atmospheric.

Download: http://trollmp3.com/audio/85591027/4611994/Thievery_Corporation-Richest_Man_in_Babylon_G-Corp_Remix.mp3

A hidden Beasties gem from their early work. The deep bassline accompanied by the “na-na-na-nana-nah” chant evokes a tribal, ritualistic tone.

Download: http://trollmp3.com/audio/88415099/1186811/Beastie_Boys-Somethings_Got_To_Give.mp3

So rare I couldn’t even find a YouTube upload of this one. A virtually unknown remix of the La Roux single that launched electro-pop into radio rotation. The BPM is higher here, but the gritty lo-fi sound complements the vocals nicely (download included in SC player).

As featured in the Sofia Coppola classic “The Virgin Suicides.”  Simple yet elegant.

Download: http://trollmp3.com/audio/92982946/16927459/Air-Playground_Love_Vibraphone_Version.mp3

The creeping bassline and tense synths back the light guitar just nice here.

Download: http://trollmp3.com/audio/123177878/-24507496/Sneaky_Sound_System-Big_Nicholas_Jaars_Always_By_Your_Side_Version_-_vkcominteresting_music_.mp3

An old, lesser-known Fatboy Slim joint. This track broods like the calm before the storm.

Download: http://trollmp3.com/audio/56455356/20778681/Fatboy_Slim-The_Weekend_Starts_Here.mp3

This Aussie native has BLOWN UP down under, and is currently embarking on a world takeover.  With good reason.  I’ve never heard a composition like this before, anywhere.

Download: http://trollmp3.com/audio/182742458/-29129526/Flume-Left_Alone_Feat_Chet_Faker.mp3

This used to be an on-repeat song in high school.  Early Kings of Leon had a knack for passionate finesse.

Download: http://trollmp3.com/audio/95458030/1715539/Kings_of_Leon-Milk.mp3

So there you have it.  A neat little 10-track playlist for a nice water lounge session.  It was really enjoyable to dig back into some of these; I spend so much time curating electronic/house music, I sometimes lose touch with my roots.  Hope you’ve enjoyed.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Image

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

