Without Struggle, There Is No Progress

My man Frederick Douglass there, laying down some truth.  It’s one of my favorite sentiments to echo when I’m in the midst of a rough patch & feel like giving up.  I often use it as motivation while exercising.  I went for a simple two mile jog on the treadmill before sitting down to write (actually the inspiration for this post); it felt good, but my time was shit.

Image

Frederick Douglass, OG (Original Grammatician).

So I reminded myself that yes, I hadn’t exactly been throwing myself into working out and devoting time to it every day.  And no, I’m not going to just start running 8-minute miles because I want to and I feel like I should be able to.  There’s a reason getting in shape sucks: it’s a slow process, it hurts, and it requires proper effort (re: actual work).  So if I want that toned, Jesus-on-the-cross look just in time for beach season, you better believe I’m gonna have a nice struggle along the way.

“No overnight success or runnin’ with vets /
just pure unadulterated work progress”

The Muppets do Jurassic 5’s “If You Only Knew.”  Gold.

I can’t recall if I’ve already written on this topic, so I’m just going to forage ahead because even if so, it’s a message worth repeating.  This same concept applies neatly to recovery, as well as any given situation in life that requires endurance.  It’s a part of the A.A. Promises – that a fruitful recovery “will materialize if we work for it.”  There are inevitably groups of people who are handed everything on a silver platter, but we are not among them – nor should we lament that we are not.

Image

For the good majority of humans in this world, and especially addicts and alcoholics, satisfactory results require painstaking labor, be they mental or physical (or both).  It seems natural, when you think about it – how else are we going to make positive strides in this world, even the day-to-day?  Of COURSE there will be tribulations.  But perhaps the problem is not that we don’t accept this as a reality, but rather that we forget to mindfully embrace it.

Personally, I find the bitter pill of ‘struggle’ much easier to swallow once I remind myself that it is really a necessary evil.  I want what I want and I want it now, but guess what?  It will be worth much more if I endure, through the exhaustive aches and pains.  So tomorrow is a new day, a new opportunity to put in good, hard work – always keeping the goal of positive progress in mind.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Image

 

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

