Grateful Sunday (Monday) #3: Survival

We’ve been through a lot, you and I.  Literally and figuratively.  Statistically, a gross percentage of people in the world won’t make it to this point in time in their lives, let alone to our (sweepingly) general level of socio-economic comfort.  But we have made it here.

Putting that in context of the bigger picture here, we are the product of 4 billion years of evolutionary success.  The odds that each of us are simultaneously existing and interacting with each other are nothing short of astronomical…yet here we are.  Sometimes I forget about just how I (you know, the royal “we”) have come along that trajectory.

Taking that into consideration, I’m glad to simply be here today, right in the now.  It makes me feel almost guilty, for all the luxuries afforded to me in life.  This was something I pondered while in rehab: what really is essential to my survival?  How much could I go without?

c3d5f4c28eee1c92fbcef7f945ccabf4681261dd_m

I was pleasantly surprised by the answer that came back to me.  I would once have thought that aside from the basic necessities such as food/water/shelter, there were certain material possessions I could not go without, no matter what.  The various devices that allow me to play back and enjoy music, for example.

The thought of going without would have once caused me great anxiety.  But why?  So what?  Spending a good month with little to no external stimuli really forces you to focus on the internal/inherent facets of life that are needed for survival.  I’ve realized that using any of those stimuli is a form of seeking inner validation through external means – and no matter how big or grand the spoils, true inner peace can only come from one place.

I have started down the path to attaining this peace.  My trail is difficult at first, because there is so much baggage in tow.  But as I forage onward, I let go of more and more of it, and the way becomes easier to navigate.  Because I have survived; because I will survive.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

 

tumblr_m5tf4bAKWx1qbvj8yo1_500

[Ed. note: I have set an alert on my phone for these weekly gratitude posts, so from here on out they should be published on Sundays, as they were meant to be.]

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

