Grateful Sunday #1: Friends & Family

Image

“A grateful heart is a sober heart” is an expression commonly heard in recovery.  Each Sunday, I will acknowledge what I am grateful for that day or week.  Repairing damaged family bonds was a topic of discussion in today’s meeting, and I realized how thankful I am for the strong ties I do have with my family.

There is no doubt I have serious work to do, in order to fully restore the bonds I have with my family (both immediate family and other relatives).  But I could not be more blessed, for all that they’ve done for me, and the love that they’ve shown for me.  It has been a constant struggle over the years, but every one of them has a good understanding of addiction & disease, and have been nothing but fully supportive from the moment that rehabilitation was mutually agreed upon for me.  The older I grow, the more I realize that my family is one of the only true important things in my life.

I can also say that over the past 5 years or so, I have developed a wonderfully close-knit and caring group of friends.  The rapport we all have with one another is immediate and constant.  When any majority of this circle is able to gather together for even a short length of time, the sense of contentment and wholeness I feel is situationally unrivaled.  I hold these friends in the highest esteem.  I have the utmost respect for the mutual loyalty and compassion that we share. 

And they have all continued to demonstrate this caliber of character — I was initially a bit anxious and apprehensive about explaining my situation in recovery to them, having spent a fair amount of time engaging in social consumption together.  But as it were, I received only positive feedback, support, and encouragement.  I have realized that being as close as we are, many of them have watched me struggle with this affliction for years, unable to do much for me but look out for my safety and self-preservation as much as I allowed.  To see me embrace a life of sobriety brings happiness on both ends.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

“Because we! are! your friends! / You’ll! never be alone again; well come on!”

 

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/11277708″>Justice Vs Simian – We Are Your Friends</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user1080630″>BajenUltras</a&gt; on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

I am deeply grateful for my loving family and my loyal friends.  Thank you all for your continued support & encouragement.

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

