And so it begins.

Here I sit, composing the very first post in what I hope will be a long-running blog focused on my lifelong recovery from the torturous disease known as alcoholism.  I am at this point 8 days out of my 28-day inpatient rehabilitation program at Tully Hill Chemical Dependency Treatment Center, located near Syracuse, N.Y. (and it is an excellent program, at that).  So all told, I am 39 days sober (having had 3 clean days before I entered rehab).

I face a long, strenuous roller coaster of a road ahead of me.  Despite the inherent hardships that lie on my path, I must remember that I have a new-found FREEDOM in my life.  A freedom from alcohol, from the bottles and cans that once dictated my every action.  A freedom to set ambitious & inspired goals for myself; to trek the highest peaks, to cross the widest oceans, to view the sprawling landscapes & majestic cities of the world, to attain inner peace & enlightenment.  Below is a list of 23 goals (23 for my current age) I set for myself, in no particular order, during my stay in rehab.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Fleetwood Mac – Dreams (Walter Sobcek Remix)

Download: http://dl.soundowl.com/4uv4.mp3

23 Goals for a Life of Sobriety

1) Backpack through Europe
2) Get a writing piece published
3) Start producing original music
4) Take up sailing; own a sailboat
5) Get certified & start practicing as an educator/counselor
6) Ski up & down the Western coast of the U.S.
7) Grow a vegetable garden
8) Visit the city of Iwakuni, Japan, where my family lived while my father was stationed in the Navy there
9) Produce & direct a short film
10) Start an entrepreneurial business venture
11) Become experienced & proficient in cooking luxurious meals
12) Spend half a year living sparsely in a hut on an exotic beach
13) Teach at least one semester of a college course
14) Run a successful Presidential campaign
15) Scuba dive & swim with sharks in international waters
16) Journey into deep space
17) Apprehend an international art thief
18) Start a foundation for extensive research on rare heart complications
19) Start a family, and live comfortably enough to always support them
20) Break a Guinness World Record
21) Trace the Zombek family ancestry back to Poland; visit Poland
22) Take great American historical tours: Gettysburg, Alcatraz, Chicago Architectural Boat Tour
23) Master three different foreign languages

Image

Drop a Line

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

Omnipleasant

Make more time for what matters most

Seeing Clear Lee

musings on becoming alcohol-free

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Sailing on Dreams

Playing mind games with Soul

Rasmus Keger

Through the eyes of Rasmus Keger

Globe Dreaming

To travel is to live.

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Microgalactic

Food, Travel and Photography Blog

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Zen and the Art of Moto Taxi Survival

Lessons learned while flirting with disaster in Paris traffic

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

will hike for food

Just Get Outside.

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

